Distinguished Educator Awards

Since 1975, when the Cabell Foundation made a grant to the University for use in attracting and retaining outstanding faculty, the Distinguished Educator Awards have honored excellence in teaching. Please review the guidelines for more information on nomination and selection. 

2023 Distinguished Educator Award Recipients

  • Dr. Elisabeth Gruner, Professor of English
  • Meredith J. Harbach, Professor of Law
  • Dr. Aleksandra Sznajder Lee, Associate Professor of Political Science                                
  • Dr. Cassandra Marshall, Associate Professor of Finance
  • Dr. David Salisbury, Associate Professor of Geography and the Environment
  • Dr. Trey Sutton, Associate Professor of Management
  • Dr. Christopher R. von Rueden, Associate Professor of Leadership Studies

For information on previous recipients, consult the list of previous award recipients.