Richmond Home

Faculty Recognition

Distinguished Educator Award

The Distinguished Educator Awards have been honoring excellence in teaching at the University of Richmond since 1975 when the Cabell Foundation made a grant to the University to be used to attract and retain outstanding faculty and promote excellence in teaching.

The process for selection includes wide input from current and former students as well as from faculty and administrators. Please review the guidelines for selection for more information on nomination and selection.

2018 Distinguished Educator Award Recipients

  • Dr. Kate M. Cassada, Associate Professor of Education & Assistant Chair of Graduate Education
  • Dr. Jan H. French, Associate Professor of Anthropology
  • Dr. Julian M. Hayter, Associate Professor of Leadership Studies
  • Dr. Patricia E. Herrera, Associate Professor of Theatre and Dance & Interim Chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance
  • Dr. Todd R. Lookingbill, Associate Professor of Geography, the Environment and Biology
  • Dr. Shakun D. Mago, Associate Professor of Economics
  • Dr. Kristine Nolin, Associate Professor of Chemistry
  • Professor Jack F. Preis, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law

For information on previous recipients, consult the list of previous award recipients.

Faculty Accomplishment Reception 2018