Richmond Home

Faculty Fellows Program

Engaged, productive faculty are essential to providing students with an unparalleled liberal arts education.  The Faculty Fellows Program is designed to attract, support, and retain faculty who bring their scholarship to bear on learning.

Applications are now closed for AY 22-23 and will re-open in fall 2022 with a deadline of November 1, 2022. For questions, please contact the Associate Provost for Faculty.

The Faculty Fellows Program provides faculty in Arts & Sciences, the Robins School of Business, and the Jepson School of Leadership Studies a temporary two-unit reduction in their course load between sabbaticals in order to focus on scholarship and creative efforts that will impact student learning.  It is a competitive, course-release program for tenured faculty.  This program contributes to the academic excellence goal of our strategic plan.

Excellent teaching and high-impact student experiences distinguish a University of Richmond education and our teacher-scholars and artist-scholars create many ways to link their scholarly or creative work to student learning. This may include scholarly/creative work that is used in teaching or course design, the creation of materials, datasets or products that will be used in teaching or mentored research, involving students as members of a research group, and other ways that faculty work to enrich student learning by advancing their work as teacher-scholars and artist-scholars. The Faculty Fellows program creates time for faculty to pursue scholarship or creative work to directly impact student learning.

This program will not affect sabbatical accrual.  Some key requirements are as follows:

  • Proposals explicitly linked to student learning and/or collaborative research with students will be favored.
  • Faculty are expected to maintain a regular service and advising load during the course release time.
  • This cannot be combined with additional course reductions to yield more than 2 units of teaching release in any given year.
  • Planning must be done collaboratively with the dean and department chair to address timing and teaching needs.
  • Joint applications will not be accepted.

2021-2022 Faculty Fellows

David Brandenberger, Professor of History
Dr. Brandenberger will finalize work on his English translation of a famous Stalin-era textbook, A Short History of the USSR.  He will incorporate the working manuscript into one of his courses, enabling him to combine the teaching of Russian history with historiography, ideology and propaganda.

Monti Datta, Associate Professor of Political Science
Dr. Datta will gather and analyze survey data on the nature and role of trust in contemporary anti-slavery organizations.  He will link this project to his SSIR class independent study requirements providing students with the opportunity to help develop and design the survey instrument.  The results will then be integrated into his classes and interested students will have the opportunity to use the data to present and share preliminary findings from the analysis.

Laura Knouse, Associate Professor of Psychology
Dr. Knouse and her students will study the impact of avoidance thoughts on procrastination and negative emotion in the daily lives of college students with Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). The ultimate goal of this work is to use knowledge about the psychological processes that lead to procrastination to help struggling students accomplish their goals and to feel happier and less stressed.

Julietta Singh, Associate Professor of English
Dr. Singh will write the narrative script for her film, The Nest, an experimental documentary in collaboration with filmmaker Chase Joynt that charts the history of a single brick and mortar home in central Canada. Exploring histories of Indigenous uprising, education for the disabled, immigrant experience, and the politics of racial mixing, Dr. Singh’s project links the lives of diverse women who have lived in a single home across 140 years of Canadian history. She will use this work to guide students toward their own practice-based projects, develop a new course on documentary feminisms, and engage student interns in the behind-the-scenes operations of documentary filmmaking.

2022-2023 Faculty Fellows

Jennifer Bowie, Associate Professor of Political Science
Dr. Bowie and her students will study judicial decision-making and the interactions between the intermediate appellate courts and courts of last resort in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada. The central goal of this work is to develop and assess a new theory of judicial decision-making that is transportable across comparative judicial systems while also creating an immersive research experience for students involved in the project. Her undergraduate research team will collaborate on two journal length manuscripts, and Dr. Bowie will work on completing her book project related to the research project.

Brian Henry, Professor of English and Creative Writing
Professor Henry will edit and translate a comprehensive volume of Selected Poems by the Slovenian poet Tomaž Šalamun for Milkweed Editions. He will use his experience working on this book to design new student projects for his courses, particularly Literary Translation, Literary Editing and Publishing, and Poetry Writing.

Angie Hilliker, Associate Professor of Biology
Dr. Hilliker and her students study the fundamental question of how cells regulate messenger RNAs (mRNAs), which serve as recipes for making all of the proteins required by an organism. Specifically, they will study how modification of an essential enzyme (Ded1) affects the cell’s entire population of mRNAs. Students will participate in all aspects of the scientific method, from planning experiments to presenting the results at conferences, in grants, or in publications. 

Monika Kukar-Kinney, Professor of Marketing and the F. Carlyle Tiller Chair in Business
Dr. Kukar-Kinney and her students will study the effects of financial literacy and the usage of new payment methods on buying among young consumers. Students will learn to conduct primary and secondary research, including focus groups and surveys, and will analyze both qualitative and quantitative data. The goal of the research is to offer public policy implications with respect to the financial education of young consumers as well as to provide directions for retail managers with respect to ethically promoting and selling to young consumers.

Selection Committee

The selection committee is convened by the Associate Provost for Faculty (APF) in ex officio capacity and is composed of five endowed chairs representing a variety of fields present in Arts & Sciences, The Robins School of Business and Jepson School of Leadership Studies.  Once fellows have completed their work, the APF will convene a committee of five faculty members drawn from prior faculty fellows and endowed chairs with attention to representing the breadth of the undergraduate schools.

Dr. Thomas P. Bonfiglio, Professor of Literature and Linguistics, William Judson Gaines Chair in Modern Foreign Languages, Program Coordinator, Linguistics
Dr. Donelson R. Forsyth, Professor, Colonel Leo K. & Gaylee Thorsness Endowed Chair in Ethical Leadership
Dr. Violet Ho, Department Chair, Management, Professor of Management, E. Claiborne Robins Distinguished Professorship in Business
Dr. Michael Leopold, Floyd D. and Elisabeth S. Gottwald Professor of Chemistry
Dr. L. Carol Summers, Samuel Chiles Mitchell-Jacob Billikopf Professor of History and Global Studies, Global Studies Concentration Advisor: Politics and Governance, Culture and Communications
Dr. Linda Boland (ex officio), Associate Provost for Faculty, Professor of Biology